

Central Queensland Hospital and Health Board meeting resolutions

31 May 2024



Board meeting minutes

Chairperson	Mr Matthew Cooke	Date and Time	Friday 31 May 2024 at 10.00 am
Venue	Executive Services Boardroom, Administration Building Rockhampton, Hospital Campus	Contact	Kristy Richardson Board Secretary (07) 49205759
Members	Mr Matthew Cooke (Chair) (by videoconference), Ms Tina Zawila, Ms Ryl Gardner, Dr Anna Vanderstaay, Ms Kate Veach (by videoconference)		
Apologies	Ms Michelle Webster, Ms Leann Wilson, Dr Pooshan Navathe		
In attendance	Ms Lisa Blackler, Mr Jamie Spencer, Ms Susan Foyle, Ms Shareen McMillan, Mr Srinath Kondapally (by videoconference), Kristy Richardson		
Guest			

Declarations of interest:

The following standing conflicts of interest were noted:

Board Member	Type of interest
Mr Matthew Cooke	Chief Executive Officer, Gladstone Region Aboriginal and Islander Community Controlled Health Service Ltd t/a Nhulundu Health Service, A/Chief Executive Officer, Centre for Rural and Regional Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Ltd t/a Centre for Rural and Regional Indigenous Health, Director, Bailai Aboriginal Corporation for Land and Culture. (NFP Voluntary role), Director, Risk Response Engage Design Develop (Remunerated role / shareholder), Chairperson and Director of the Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council (QAIHC).
Ms Leann Wilson	Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Healing Foundation Deputy Chair and Director; Aboriginal Hostels Limited Board, Director; Australian Rugby League Indigenous Council, Director; Queensland Indigenous Business Network, Director; Timber Queensland, Director.
Dr Anna Vanderstaay	Senior Medical Officer (Part-time temporary) at South West Hospital and Health Service, Medical Officer (Casual) at Royal Flying Doctor Service (Qld Section), General Practitioner (Contractor) at Medicare Urgent Care Centre operated by ForHealth



Page 2 of 7

Board meeting resolutions

Meeting opening

The Chair formally opened the meeting at 10.00 am

1. Closed member's session

A closed members session was not held

2. Opening Business

2.1. Welcome and Apologies

The apologies of Ms Michelle Webster and Ms Leann Wilson were **ACCEPTED** The apology of Dr Pooshan Navathe was **NOTED**

2.2. Acknowledgment of the Traditional Owners

We respect the collective cultures and traditions of the - recognised Aboriginal Traditional Owners and the Mura Kus Torres Strait Islander Descendants and Mura Kus communities of the Torres Strait Islanders living in Central Queensland - that are represented across the land, sea and river systems that connect and link our health services: Darumbal, Woppaburra, Konomie, Gooreng Byellee (Bailai), Gurang, Gooreng, Taribelang Bunda, Gangulu/Gaangal, Ghungalu, Wulli Wulli, Western Kangoulu, Wadja, Kairi. We respectfully acknowledge our Elders, our communities, and the health workforce past and present, who continue in sharing their cultural knowledge and dedication that supports the healing across our communities and within the provision of health services.

- 2.3. Patient Story
- 2.4. Declarations and Conflicts of Interest made as noted above.
- 2.5. Confirmation of Minutes The Minutes of 26 April 2024 were confirmed as a true and accurate record.
- 2.6. Board Calendar

Resolution:

The Board Calendar was NOTED



Page 3 of 7

2.7. Update of Meeting Action Register

Resolution:

The update of the Meeting Action Register was NOTED

3. Key Updates

3.1 Health Service Chief Executive's Report

Resolution:

The Board APPROVED the extension of Mr Jamie Spencer in the role of Chief Operating Officer to 30 June 2024

Resolution:

The Board **NOTED** receipt of the Service Delivery Statement by the Health Service Chief Executive and requested that it be reviewed in full prior to any endorsement or resolution to accept.

Resolution:

The Board:

- 1. **APPROVED** Associate Professor David Austin acting as the Executive Director of Medical Services whilst Professor Pooshan Navathe takes a period of leave between 28 May 2024 and 10 June 2024 inclusive.
- 2. APPROVED Ms Kylie Cookson acting as Executive Director Nursing and Midwifery Quality and Safety whilst Ms Sue Foyle takes a period of leave between 3 June 2024 and 7 June 2024 inclusive.

Resolution:

The Board **NOTED** the Report and information provided in the Health Service Chief Executive's Report to the Board

3.2 Notifiable Incidents Update

Resolution:

The CQHH Board NOTED the update

3.3 Officer Due Diligence Presentation

Members received a presentation relating to Due Diligence under the Work Health and Safety Act 2011



4. Matters for Decision

4.1. Grant of Indemnity

Declaration:

Dr Anna Vanderstaay declared a Conflict of Interest with respect to this agenda item and left the meeting room while the resolution was discussed

Resolution:

The Board **AUTHORISED** an Approved Indemnity Deed be entered into between the CQHHS and Dr Anna Vanderstaay

Declaration:

Ms Kathleen Veach declared a Conflict of Interest with respect to this agenda item and left the meeting room by leaving the videoconference while the resolution was discussed

Resolution:

The Board **AUTHORISED** an Approved Indemnity Deed be entered into between the CQHHS and Ms Kathleen Veach

Declaration:

Ms Ryl Gardner declared a Conflict of Interest with respect to this agenda item and left the meeting room while the resolution was discussed.

Resolution:

The Board **AUTHORISED** an Approved Indemnity Deed be entered into between the CQHHS and Ms Ryl Gardner

Declaration:

Ms Lisa Blackler declared a Conflict of Interest with respect to this agenda item and left the meeting room while the resolution was discussed.

Resolution:

The Board **AUTHORISED** an Approved Indemnity Deed be entered into between the CQHHS and Ms Lisa Blackler

Resolution:

The Board **AUTHORISED** the Deeds be signed by the Chair on behalf of the CQHHS



Page 5 of 7

5. Matters for Discussion

5.1 April 2024 Finance Report

Resolution:

The Board NOTED the Finance Report

5.2 CQHHS Activity Performance

Resolution:

The Board NOTED the CQHHS YTD Activity Performance

5.3 Committee Minutes and Recommendations

Resolution:

The Board NOTED

- 1. the 16 April 2024 minutes of the Audit and Risk Committee
- 2. the 17 April 2024 minutes of the Finance and Resource Committee
- 3. the update from the Safety and Quality Committee Chair regarding the meeting of 29 May 2024.

Resolution:

That the Chairs of the Board's prescribed committees are agreed as follows:

- 1. Executive Committee Ms Tina Zawila
- 2. Finance and Performance Ms Tina Zawila
- 3. Audit and Risk Committee Ms Michelle Webster
- 4. Safety and Quality Committee Dr Anna Vanderstaay

6. Matters for Noting

6.1 Nil

7. General Business and Meeting finalisation

7.1 Correspondence

Resolution:

The Board **NOTED** the correspondence

7.2 Conflict of Interest

The papers were sent by email to members for completion

The Meeting was closed at 1.15 pm



Page 6 of 7

8. Next meeting date

Confirmed Date:28 June 2024Confirmed Time:10:00 amConfirmed Venue:Venue to be confirmed



Page 7 of 7