

Central Queensland Hospital and Health Board meeting resolutions

28 June 2024



Board meeting minutes

Chairperson	Mr Matthew Cooke	Date and Time	Friday 28 June 2024 at 10.00 am
Venue	Teams Meeting only	Contact	Kristy Richardson Board Secretary (07) 49205759
Members	Mr Matthew Cooke (Chair), Ms Tina Zawila, Ms Ryl Gardner, Dr Anna Vanderstaay, Ms Kathleen Veach, Ms Michelle Webster, Ms Leann Wilson		
Apologies			
In attendance	Ms Lisa Blackler, Dr Pooshan Navathe, Mr Jamie Spencer, Mr Matt Boyd, Ms Shareen McMillan, Kristy Richardson		
Guest	Mr Damien Lawson – for Ite	m 3.1	

Declarations of interest:

The following standing conflicts of interest were noted:

Board Member	Type of interest
Mr Matthew Cooke	Chief Executive Officer, Gladstone Region Aboriginal and Islander Community Controlled Health Service Ltd t/a Nhulundu Health Service, A/Chief Executive Officer, Centre for Rural and Regional Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Ltd t/a Centre for Rural and Regional Indigenous Health, Director, Bailai Aboriginal Corporation for Land and Culture. (NFP Voluntary role), Director, Risk Response Engage Design Develop (Remunerated role / shareholder), Chairperson and Director of the Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council (QAIHC).
Ms Leann Wilson	Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Healing Foundation Deputy Chair and Director; Aboriginal Hostels Limited Board, Director; Australian Rugby League Indigenous Council, Director; Queensland Indigenous Business Network, Director; Timber Queensland, Director.
Dr Anna Vanderstaay	Senior Medical Officer (Part-time temporary) at South West Hospital and Health Service, Medical Officer (Casual) at Royal Flying Doctor Service (Qld Section), General Practitioner (Contractor) at Medicare Urgent Care Centre operated by ForHealth



Page 2 of 7

Board meeting resolutions

Meeting opening

The Chair formally opened the meeting at 10.00 am

1. Closed member's session

A closed members session was held following the closing of the meeting at 1.15 pm.

2. Opening Business

2.1. Welcome and Apologies

The apologies of Ms Michelle Webster and Ms Leann Wilson were **ACCEPTED** The apology of Dr Pooshan Navathe was **NOTED**

2.2. Acknowledgment of the Traditional Owners

We respect the collective cultures and traditions of the - recognised Aboriginal Traditional Owners and the Mura Kus Torres Strait Islander Descendants and Mura Kus communities of the Torres Strait Islanders living in Central Queensland - that are represented across the land, sea and river systems that connect and link our health services: Darumbal, Woppaburra, Konomie, Byellee (Bailai), Gurang, Gooreng Gooreng, Taribelang Bunda, Gangulu/Gaangal, Ghungalu, Wulli Wulli, Western Kangoulu, Wadja, Kairi. We respectfully acknowledge our Elders, our communities, and the health workforce past and present, who continue in sharing their cultural knowledge and dedication that supports the healing across our communities and within the provision of health services.

- 2.3. Patient Story
- 2.4. Declarations and Conflicts of Interest made as noted above.
- 2.5. Confirmation of Minutes

The Minutes of 31 May 2024 were confirmed as a true and accurate record.



Page 3 of 7

2.6. Board Calendar and Meeting Calendar

Resolution:

Effective 28 June 2024, the Board reconstituted its committees as follows:

- The Audit and Risk Committee membership comprise: Chair: Ms Michelle Webster Members: Ms Kate Veach, Dr Anna Vanderstaay, Mr Matt Cooke (exofficio)
- 2. The *Finance and Performance Committee* membership comprise: Chair: Ms Tina Zawila Members: Ms Michelle Webster, Ms Ryl Gardner, Mr Matt Cooke (exofficio)
- 3. The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Wellbeing Committee be integrated with the Safety and Quality Committee with the current reports to be provided to the Safety and Quality Committee and other Committees as may be determined.
- 4. The *Safety and Quality Committee* membership comprise: Chair: Dr Anna Vanderstaay Members: Ms Leann Wilson, Ms Kate Veach, Mr Matt Cooke (exofficio)
- The Executive Committee membership comprise: Chair: Ms Tina Zawila Members: Ms Michelle Webster, Dr Anna Vanderstaay, Ms Leann Wilson, Mr Matt Cooke (ex-officio)
- 6. The *Investment, Research and Planning Committee* be suspended with the reports to be provided to the Executive Committee and other Committees as may be determined.
- 7. Ms Ryl Gardner be the Chair's nominee to the CQ Shines Board.
- 8. That the composition of committees and the purpose and objectives of the committees be revisited in three months.
- 2.7. Update of Meeting Action Register

Resolution:

The update of the Meeting Action Register was NOTED



Page 4 of 7

3. Key Updates

3.1 Health Service Chief Executive's Report

Resolution:

The Board:

- 1. **NOTED** the **APPOINTMENT** of Ms Victoria Leov to the role of Chief Operating Officer.
- 2. **APPROVED** the extension of Mr Jamie Spencer acting in the position of Chief Operating Officer until 28 July 2024.
- 3. **AUTHORISED** the Board Chair to sign any documents required to effect the resolutions.

Resolution:

The Board **NOTED** the Report and information provided in the Health Service Chief Executive's Report to the Board

3.2 Residential Accommodation Update

Resolution:

The Board **NOTED**:

- 1. the increased residential accommodation expenses attributed to higher utilisation and rental costs in line with market.
- 2. opportunities to maximise HHS value from the residential accommodation including by:
 - a. Clarifying residential accommodation entitlements and procedures
 - b. Better utilising existing systems and processes.
 - c. Maximise the benefits of the amortisation process via reducing expensed leases to the extent possible
- 3.3 Notifiable Incidents Update

Resolution:

The Board NOTED the update



Page 5 of 7

4. Matters for Decision

4.1. Strategic Plan - Review

Resolution:

The Board **APPROVED** the updates made to the reviewed Strategic Plan for publication

4.2 Extraordinary Amendment Window Proposal – June 2024

The Board:

- 1. **NOTED** and **ENDORSED** the Extraordinary Amendment Window Proposal – June 2024
- 2. **RECOMMENDED** to the Board to reach an in-principal agreement to accept the Extraordinary Amendment Window Proposal June 2024
- 3. AUTHORISED the Board Chair to sign the Proposal
- 4.3 Central Queensland HHS: 2024/25 Amendment Window 1 Deed of Amendment

Resolution:

The Board:

- 1. **NOTED** the Central Queensland HHS: 2024/25 Amendment Window 1 Deed of Amendment
- 2. **TASKED** the Health Service Chief Executive with discussing further options with the Department regarding the negative funding line item and an increase in growth funding

5. Matters for Discussion

5.1 May 2024 Finance Report

Resolution:

The Board **NOTED** the Finance Report

5.2 CQHHS Activity Performance

Resolution:

The Board NOTED the CQHHS YTD Activity Performance

5.3 Committee Minutes and Recommendations

Resolution:

1. The Board **NOTED** the minutes of the Audit and Risk Committee meeting of 11 June 2024



Page 6 of 7

- 2. The Board **NOTED** the minutes of the Safety and Quality Committee meeting of 29 May 2024
- 3. The Board **NOTED** the minutes of the Finance and Performance Committee meeting of 22 May 2024
- 4. The Board **NOTED** the minutes of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Wellbeing Committee of 10 June 2024

6. Matters for Noting

6.1 Nil

7. General Business and Meeting finalisation

7.1 Correspondence

Resolution:

The Board **NOTED** the correspondence

7.2 CQHHS Financial Statements (proforma) and Non-Current Asset Valuations

Resolution:

The Board to **REVIEWED** and **NOTED**:

- 1. 2023/2024 Proforma (draft template) Financial Statements
- 2. Draft results of the non-current property assets revaluation

The Meeting was closed at 1.20 pm

8. Next meeting date

Confirmed Date:26 July 2024Confirmed Time:10:00 amConfirmed Venue:Venue to be confirmed



Page 7 of 7